How to Become a Licensed Nail Tech in GA

How to Become a Licensed Nail Tech in GA. The quickest and most efficient way to become a licensed nail tech in GA is to attend a state-licensed cosmetology school.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

In order to work as a licensed nail technician in the state of Georgia, you must meet the requirements set forth by the Georgia Cosmetology and Barbers Board. These requirements include completing an approved cosmetology program, passing both a written and practical exam, and paying a licensing fee. Once you have met these requirements and been issued a license, you will need to renew it every two years.

The Georgia Board of Cosmetology and Barbers

The Georgia Board of Cosmetology and Barbers requires nail techs to complete a program of study at an accredited school, pass a written and practical exam, and pay a licensing fee. The written exam covers general cosmetology knowledge, sanitation and safety, state laws, and salon management. The practical exam tests your skills in performing manicures, pedicures, artificial nails, wraps, and nail art.

If you have completed a nail tech program in another state, you may be eligible for reciprocity if that state’s requirements are equivalent to or greater than those in Georgia. You will need to submit proof of licensure from the other state, as well as transcripts from your training program.

Applying for a License

If you want to become a licensed nail tech in GA, you must complete the following steps:

1. Complete an approved cosmetology program. In order to be eligible for licensure, you must complete an approved cosmetology program at a school or college that is licensed by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology. The program must consist of at least 1,500 hours of study, which includes both classroom and practical instruction.

2. Pass the Georgia state examination. Once you have completed your cosmetology program, you must then pass the Georgia state examination in order to receive your license. The exam consists of two parts: a written exam and a skills demonstration.

3. Apply for a license from the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology. Once you have passed the state examination, you must then apply for a license from the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology. When applying for a license, you will need to submit the following items:
-A completed application form
-Proof of completion of an approved cosmetology program
-Proof of passage of the state examination
-The applicable fee

The Written Examination

All applicants for licensure must pass a written examination covering the subjects of manicuring, nail technology, and state law. The written examination is offered in English and Spanish at locations throughout the state.

The examination is developed by an independent testing company under the direction of the Board’s professional consultant. It consists of 60 multiple choice questions on manicuring, nail technology and state law. Applicants are expected to answer at least 75% of the questions correctly to pass the examination.

Those who fail the written examination may reapply and retake the examination after 30 days. There is no limit to the number of times an applicant may take the examination, but a $50 processing fee must be paid for each administration of the examination.

The Practical Examination

The practical examination is a state administered, skills-based test that covers all topics taught in the basic nail tech program. The test is given in two parts, a written exam and a hands-on exam.

Continuing Education

In order to renew your license, you will need to complete 6 hours of continuing education every year. Of those 6 hours, at least 3 must be in-person, live courses. The other 3 hours can be a combination of in-person, live courses, online courses, or home study courses. You will need to keep your certificate of completion for each course you take for 4 years after the course was completed.

Renewing Your License

You will need to renew your license every two years. The process is simple and can be done online. You will need to log into your account on the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology’s website and pay the renewal fee. You will also need to provide proof of completion of continuing education credits.

Scroll to Top